Breakfast Biscuit Sandwiches

I love pajama parties.  And breakfast pajama parties.  It’s so much fun having a civilized meal and slightly civilized conversation (a girl can’t always be civilized, you know) while in your pajamas.  Hil and I had a lovely one, although she had a meeting after so we couldn’t embrace the usual mimosa imbibement.  Next time.

Hil’s from the South, so I thought who better to judge my biscuit making skills?  I attempted to wow her with the breakfast biscuit sandwiches I read about in Food and Wine magazine.  Recipe here.

Little word from the wise – cut the amount of salt they suggest in half.  The biscuits were insanely salty.  Half of the reason I made the arugula salad was to balance it out.  I also substituted  jalapeno jack  for the cheddar.  Adds a nice little kick!

dry ingredients + pea-chopping the butter

i need more counterspace.  a necessary in my next apartment.

almost biscuits!

Hilary-approved biscuit sandwiches and arugula salad

I also included a little arugula salad with vinaigrette inspired by my trip to Jim + Christine’s (they make the best salad dressings in the world).  A tablespoon vinegar (I used Orange Muscat Champagne vinegar but lots of vinegars will do, as well lemon juice.  If you add lemon juice I suggest you offset the tart with a bit of honey), a teaspoon dijon (I prefer grainy), one clove freshly pressed garlic (a major food group in my diet), a few pinches of salt (I used sea salt) and a couple of big spins on the pepper grinder.  Wisk them all together at the bottom of the salad bowl you’re going to make the salad in and everything let sit for a few minutes to infuse the flavors together.  Right before you’re ready to serve, wisk in a couple of tablespoons of olive oil, then add lettuce and toss!  You can easily double or half the recipe.  Or if you don’t obsess over garlic the way I do (GASP!) you can also use a little less.

garlic-a-riffic arugula salad close up

PS – Told you I was obsessed with fried egg sandwiches.

Leave a Reply

