Blueberry-infused Vodka

Last year for Christmas, I made my coworkers blueberry vanilla vodka.  The blueberry aspect was amazing, the vanilla – not so much.  I’m a sucker for vanilla (and yes, I use unsweetened vanilla almond milk as a substitute for milk on most days) but in the vodka, phew – it was like pungent, medicinal battery acid.  Gross.

So, for my own personal gain, I decided to make vanilla-less blueberry vodka for a night of fanciful frippery.  I asked one of our bartenders last year about the types of vodka one should use for infusing alcohol, and the answer I got is that it doesn’t really matter.  Cheap vodka is totally fine as the infusion balances out most of the taste-centric reasons you would use a fancier vodka.  Although I am normally a Grey Goose kinda girl (you fancy, {shmancy} huh?) the fact that I have full leeway to use cheap vodka is the opposite of not awesome.

froggy is excited about the vodka

infuse infuse infuse

look at those colors

I added about 3/4 of a bag of TJ’s frozen blueberries to about 3/4 of a bottle of Vodka Monopolowa ($9.99 at TJ’s).  Baller.

Technically you’re supposed to let it brew for about a week before you drink it, but I don’t have that sort of patience.  I was mightily impressed by the powers of infusion, especially considering it was imbibed approximately 12 hours after the start.  We mixed 2 “jiggers” (ha I love that word) of blueberry vodka with approximately 8 oz of sparkling lime mineral water from TJ’s, a squeeze of fresh lime juice + a small handful of frozen blueberries.  Delish!

Can’t wait to see how it tastes in a week.

PS – Reading Born Round by Frank Bruni.  Love love love.  Inspiring.

Leave a Reply

