Biblioheads in Hayes Valley

On my way home from work is a lovely little area called the Hayes Valley, which is also walking distance from my house – fancy that.  I mean, it is walk that might cause one to breathe heavily due to a large mountain being in the middle of it.  (Large mountain = a San Francisco hill.  I have a tendency to exaggerate.)


bibliohead

Today I got off work a little early and decided to check out a book store in Hayes Valley called Bibliohead.  I saw it when I was shopping Armina the other weekend called and have been thinking about it ever since.  And ugh I love bookstores.  I love the smell of them.  I could spend hours and hours bobbling around… and with floor to ceiling books (new, used, collectible, art, food, fiction, non fiction, philosophical, scientific, etc. etc. etc.) this is definitely a place I’ll be found on a regular basis.  I might even get lost and live on a bookshelf.  I am about the right height.

look at all those books!

I picked up a couple of used books (Comfort Me With Apples by Ruth Reichl, whom I adore was my number one pick) and wandered around the corner at the behest of the owner to Arlequin to pick up some food to go.

chalkboard menu

I think this might be my new spot.  A little garden in the back with a few tables for when it’s nice plus their wine store, the Arlequin Wine Merchant, is connected so you can also pick up a bottle (or two) of wine while you’re there.

doesn’t that window just beckon to you on a sunny day?
photo courtesy of sf weekly

PS My veal + pork meatball sandwich was kind of incredible.  Spicy and delicious on a warm, delectably crunchy yet soft baguette.

Leave a Reply

