Raspberry Ricotta Scones

Baking is a dream.  Simply the best.  Sometimes I just need to get my hands covered in flour and butter and gooey messy.  So, when I came across Deb’s (Deb = Smitten Kitchen) recipe for Whole Wheat Raspberry Ricotta Scones, I knew someone’s hands would soon be getting dirty.

image courtesy of smitten kitchen

And dirty these hands got.  Ricotta, butter, raspberries, a bit o milk (I substituted lowfat milk for cream and the store only had part skim ricotta) meant sticky ooey gooey which is just what this little monster needed.

Mine didn’t turn out quite as fluffy as Deb’s – I think the butter wasn’t cold enough and I mushed it around in my hands too long, but man are they delicious.  A little bit of butter and a little bit of jam and oh em gee.

I also have to mention I made one of my favorite dinners in the whole world tonight – Shakshuka.

And I also roasted asparagus according to Ina Garten’s recipe.  I love everything Barefoot!  And everything asparagus.  Asparagus is the best.

Whenever I make Deb’s Tomato Sauce with Onions and Butter, the best and easiest homemade tomato sauce in the world, I save a bit of sauce for Shakshuka. It’s so easy. Seriously.

shakshuka image also from smitten kitchen
i devoured mine so fast i couldn’t photograph it
what?! i said it’s my favorite!!!

Sautee some spinach, throw on half a cup of your leftover sauce, simmer and crack an egg on top.  Poach the egg in tomato sauce, and then serve everything atop toasted baguette with freshly cracked pepper and some shmancy salt.

Yum.

4 responses to “Raspberry Ricotta Scones

  1. The scones look amazing and I just LOVE smitten Kitchen
    Please stop by and say hi
    xoxo
    bB
    http://www.itsybitsybrianna.wordpress.com

  2. Those scones look delicious!!! I love that you used whole wheat. Thanks for sharing! I’m new to blogging here and I just love how supportive and creative everyone is! If you have time, could you please check out my blog? http://shecooksandheeats.wordpress.com/ If you have any, I would love some advice 🙂

    • Thanks so much! They were incredible – everyone who tried’s jaws literally dropped after the first bite. They’re so easy to make. Your blog is so fun, I loved checking it out – and it looks like we both have a love for popsicles. Can’t wait to see more!

Leave a Reply

