Love Will Tear Us Apart

I love Exhibition A & their limited edition collaborative prints.

This Michael Bevilacqua piece came into my inbox this morning… I really really really want it but really really really need to recover from Christmas shopping before I even think about indulging in anything like this for myself.

5:18 Michael Bevilacqua

Via Exhibition A: “‘Love Will Tear Us Apart’ is the amazing song by Joy Division about Ian Curtis’ torrid love affair. Torn between his wife and lover, the end result was Curtis committing suicide after only two albums and a handful of singles. Probably the most influential indie band to date. For the last year and more, the music of Joy Division has dominated my studio resulting in paintings of chrome, black and white. Joy Division is the soundtrack to an industrial landscape of new work scratched, burned and erased into existence.” – Michael Bevilacqua, 2011

I only recently discovered Joy Division (way behind the times, I know, but I watched Control to try and relate to a boy… how lame does that sound…) and now they’re playing on repeat on my Spotify because I hear Ian Curtis’ voice and get the chills.  Anyway.  There you are.  I like Joy Division.  And this print.  And I want it in our living room, hanging above our fireplace.

At least those creepy owls are gone.

Leave a Reply

