Scales of Sophistication a la Garance

Everyone can always use a few style tips pointers and tiddlybits, especially from one of my favorite ladies of the online, Garance Dore, and especiallyespecially on the first day of 2012.  Sets the tone for the year very nicely, methinks.

You don’t always have to be at a 10.

The 10 Degrees of Sophistication:

For those of you who are wondering what sort of Richter scale I use to measure my degree of sophistication, here’s a little guide:

Scale of Sophistication à la Garance:

–> Level 1 I partied all night and fell asleep diagonally on my couch with an infomercial on, fully dressed without taking my makeup off, but that goes without saying.

–> Level 2 I’ve just come back from a run. I hope for you that you never see me like this, sweaty, a dumb runner’s high smile and the rosiest cheeks you ever did see.

–> Level 3 I’ve got the flu. No description necessary.

–> Level 4 I’m on my way to do some grocery shopping at the Whole Foods down the block. I just showered, but no makeup.

–> Level 5 I’m meeting up with a friend. I put on powder and some mascara and my hair is in a quick bun.

–> Level 6 I have a photo-shoot (where I’m the photographer), same thing as above + foundation.

–> Level 7 I have a meeting with a client, so same as above + eye shadow + high heels. (From this level on, note that I am wearing high heels.)

–> Level 8 I have a date with my man, same as above + lipstick and wearing my hair down and curly. In other words, you could say I’m pulling a Wild Garance.

–> Level 9 I’ve got a fashion party to go to, so same thing minus the hair. I try to do something with it like some super sophisticated bun, but I fail miserably so I end up just wearing it up and putting 3 tons of gel into it so I look super sleek. And not sorry-I-was-in-a-super-rush. So like, the same thing as I did yesterday.

–> Level 10 I have a photo-shoot (I’m in front of the camera), a hair-stylist and makeup artist take possession of my body to work what I would have loved to call “their magic” but it so often just ends up being the same thing : They put a too much brown on my cheeks and give me a “loose curl” blow-dry (= the same thing as everyone else), and I look like Victoria Principal and I just hate it. But of course I do, sophisticated as I am.)

I need to work on the high heels part a little bit more … but… I kind of love thisslashher so much I have it pasted on my bulletin board at work.

With a heart drawn on it.

I really like drawing hearts.  And stars.  And Garance Dore.

2 responses to “Scales of Sophistication a la Garance

  1. thanks so much! happy new year!

Leave a Reply

