Bakestravaganzaaaaa

My need to bake has finally returned and last night manifested itself into a smorgasbord of deliciousness with not just one, but two complimentary creations.

Pomelo-Lemon Curd and (my favorite) Scones!

little miss muppet sat on a tuffet eating her curds and whey

It all started when I happened upon the most gorgeous pomelos and grapefruit at the Farmer’s Market this weekend (flowers – remember?!) and just couldn’t resist buying them even though I had no freaking clue what I was going
to do with them, although the thought of a grapefruit/avocado salad totally made my mouth tingle.

Then my lovely friend Krista posted on Instagram pictures of her Grapefruit curd and of course I just had to get the recipe, so she looped in the delightful Sarah who shared that she got the recipe from none other then Smitten Kitchen, which, as you all should know by now is my favorite cooking blog
in the whole entire world
.

This is the original recipe – I went ahead and combined the juice (and zest) of one gigantic pomelo and one fairly substantial lemon and used 1/2 cup of that juice mixture (and all of the zest from both!) in the recipe.

Pretty effing delicious.  Should I make this again I’ll probably use a litttttttttttle less sugar since pomelos are so naturally sweet.

breakfast

Then I baked these little suckers, also from Smitten Kitchen minus currants (didn’t think they’d compliment the curd so much) and substituting 2% milk, then piled on my ooey gooey mess for a tangytartysweetkickintheface of flavor.

yum.

One response to “Bakestravaganzaaaaa

  1. bellegroveatportconway

    I really enjoyed your post! I am opening a bed and breakfast on the historic property where James Madison was born soon. So I am always on the lookout for good ideas for breakfast. I look forward to your future post!

Leave a Reply

